AAJ HAS UPDATED ITS PRIVACY POLICY AND USES COOKIES ON THIS SITE. To acknowledge and accept AAJ’s privacy policy with the use of cookies, please select OK, I Accept.

Review AAJ's Privacy Policy

Minority Caucus

All voting members who self-identify as a minority can join the AAJ Minority Caucus, a networking group that focuses on membership, fundraising, education, and public service.

Join AAJ
Camaraderie and Community
Get Involved Today

AAJ's Minority Caucus has more than a thousand active and engaged members.  The caucus hosts virtual and in-person events throughout the year, including community service projects and social events at convention, and supports AAJ through membership and fundraising drives.

Join the Caucus
Caucus in Action
Supporting the Next Generation of Trial Lawyers

Named in honor of AAJ's past-President and first person of color to hold the position, the Minority Caucus's Richard D. Hailey Law Student Scholarship is a $5,000 award presented each summer during AAJ's Annual Convention to a minority Law Student member.  The scholarship is awarded to a student who is committed to developing strong trial advocacy skills and representing those who have been injured by the negligence or misconduct of others. Congratulations to the 2020 scholarship recipient, Terry Jecoby Young, a JD-candidate at the Vermont Law School.

Donate to the Scholarship FundLearn More about the Scholarship
Rick Barrera in dark suit

Rick Barrera

Buckingham Barrera Law Firm Albuquerque, NM

Rick serves clients in a wide range of personal injury cases including, wrongful death, tractor-trailer crashes, oil field work-related injuries, and medical malpractice. In addition to being an active AAJ member, he is also is a member of the New Mexico Trial Lawyers Association, Texas Trial Lawyers Association, and the Hispanic National Bar Association.


2020-2021 Caucus Leadership

  • Chair: Rick Barrera | Buckingham Barrera Law Firm, Albuquerque, NM
  • Chair-Elect: Amber Pang Parra | Justinian & Associates, PLLC, San Antonio, TX
  • Treasurer: Ervin Nevitt | Coplan & Crane, Oak Park, IL
  • Secretary: Javier Herrera | The Herrera Law Firm, San Antonio, TX
  • Representative to the AAJ Executive Committee: Rachel Gusman | Graves McLain PLLC, Tulsa, OK
  • Representative to the AAJ BOG: Chris Fitzgerald | Law Offices of Chris Fitzgerald, New York, NY
  • Rep to BOG: Kelli Byers Hooper | KBH Law, Fayetteville, GA
  • Rep to BOG: Raymond Jones | Law Offices of Raymond R. Jones, Washington, DC
  • Rep to BOG: Jason Penn | Berman Sobin Gross Feldman & Darby, LLP, Lutherville, MD
Caucus Statement

AAJ’s Minority Caucus Executive Board released a statement in response to racial injustice and police brutality. Read the Statement


Minority caucus members are engaged and active

Member Benefit

Minority Caucus Roundtables

Roundtable a case with your colleagues to gain insight and expertise.

Join a Committee

Get Involved!

Committees exist to enhance your membership and your practice, focusing on membership, fundraising, education, and public service.

Ask questions, get referrals

List Server

This active list server is an excellent resource for questions on experts, cases, and the law. It is also a source for potential referrals.

How do I join the Caucus?

The Minority Caucus is open to all AAJ members who have self-identified as a minority.  If you are interested in joining the caucus, please contact AAJ membership to update you member profile.    Contact AAJ Membership