AAJ HAS UPDATED ITS PRIVACY POLICY AND USES COOKIES ON THIS SITE. To acknowledge and accept AAJ’s privacy policy with the use of cookies, please select OK, I Accept.

Review AAJ's Privacy Policy
About Us


Presidential Awards

Lifetime Achievement Award

Presented at the AAJ Annual Convention, this award honors AAJ member whose courtroom advocacy has, during a distinguished career, significantly advanced the rights of the wrongfully injured, and who by substantial service to AAJ and the trial bar, has significantly furthered the cause for justice and the mission of the Association.

Harry Philo Award

Presented at the AAJ Annual Convention, this award recognizes an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the civil justice system and whose work has advanced the safety and protection of American consumers.

Steven J. Sharp Public Service Award

Recognizes claimants and the attorneys of claimants whose cases help tell the story of the American civil justice system.

David S. Shrager President’s Award
Recognizes an AAJ member who has demonstrated former AAJ President David Shrager's passion for the law and trial bar, and who has made an outstanding contribution to civil justice and the work of AAJ.

Howard Twiggs Award
Recognizes an AAJ member of at least 10 years standing whose passion, civility, cordiality, and professionalism reflect the high standards set by Howard Twiggs; and whose courtroom advocacy and distinguished service to AAJ have brought honor to the trial bar and the legal profession.

Distinguished Service Award
Recognizes members of the AAJ Board of Governors who during the past year have been of special assistance to the President of the Association.

Wiedemann & Wysocki Award
The Wiedmann Wysocki Award recognizes members who have made outstanding efforts in support of AAJ's Political Action Committee (PAC).

The award is named in honor of Fritz Wiedemann and James Anthony Wysocki, two New Orleans-based attorneys and active AAJ members who were traveling on assignment to help AAJ when they died in a tragic plane crash. This award recognizes members who have carried on their legacy and who are passionately committed to the principles of the civil justice system and AAJ's mission."

Certificates of Recognition
Service to AAJ through fundraising, membership, or education."

Above and Beyond Award
Recognizes AAJ members who have made exceptional financial contributions to sustain and strengthen the organization."

Pro Bono Award
Recognizes an AAJ member or firm that has gone above the call of duty by taking on a case or cause voluntarily as a public service.

"AAJ Partnership Award
Recognizes someone from a state, local, or jurisdictional trial lawyer organization who has promoted and fostered a spirit of support and cooperation between AAJ and the affiliated organization, as well as between AAJ and NATLE, and whose service to the affiliated organization has strengthened the civil justice system."

"Champion of Civil Justice Award
This is an occasional award presented to a lawmaker who has been a stalwart of the civil justice system."

"International Trial Lawyer Leadership Award
Given to a non-U.S. trial lawyer leader who has contributed significantly to the development of international relations and exchange of information among plaintiff lawyers."

Masonary Grid Title



Promo Full Width